LoTRO: The Timing Is Right

For the first time in quite some time, my weekend had quite of MMO happening.  My month of Everquest was up and my wife and I decided not to resub.  Don’t get me wrong we had a blast but, maybe a taste of the game is all we need to satisfy our EQ craving.  I don’t think we did too bad.  Levels 1 – 30 in a month of a little more than casual play isn’t too shabby I don’t think.

I left Vanguard as well.  I am slightly disappointed I didn’t ride it out for a bit longer to get my Shaman up a few more levels to finally get his pet. I can list my reasons but, I’m pretty sure I’d just be making excuses.  For some reason, I just couldn’t get into the game.  Pretty sure, me not getting into the game, was all my fault.

Great, now I don’t have an MMO to play.  I mean, I don’t have to play MMO’s but I like to have one locked and loaded just in case I need to one.  What to do, what to do.

It’s weird how my brain works sometimes and how I associate things.  So, via numberous blogs and Massively, I see DDO is going F2P.  I know some players are complaining about it but, it today’s tough economic time, I think it’s a “except change or loose the game” kind of situation. And a change like this, good or bad, is getting DDO mentioned everywhere (for a change).  Even my grandmother called and asked me about it (she’s very hip for her age).

With that, I started humming a tune of “Turbine smart, mart, mart-mart-mart” and hit up their website.  I checked out DDO and signed up for their F2P beta.  I then wandered over to LoTRo’s  website.  I’ve said it before, from what I’ve played (which has been limited to the trial) I really enjoyed the game.  I’ve never just been in the right circumstances to play it.  Either I’m happy with the MMO I’m playing, or I’ve been broke or something.  But, I see on the website that I can pick up Mines of Moria for $10 and pay $10 a month.  Hey that’s pretty sweet.  And, I’m not playing any MMO.  Time see’s pretty good.

I must say, that I am a bit concerned with higher levels.  When I hear multiple, old school Everquest players tell me the game gets way too grindy,it makes a bead of sweat instantly appear on my brow (ooooooo magic).  But let’s be honest here.  As fickle as I have been on my MMO’s lately, do we really think I’ll last that long?  I guess we will see.

4 Responses to “LoTRO: The Timing Is Right”

  1. I don’t mind the grind if I’m having fun. EQ’s grind was fun because you were in a group, chatting, telling jokes in /ooc, trading dirt about the uberguilds — it was just about having fun where you were.

    LotRO is (for me) just doing pointless quests (kill defenseless animals or equally defenseless orcs and goblins) forever. Right up through level 36, aside from the fun dungeon crawls (which were fun), it was me logging in to spend several hours alone doing menial, repetitive tasks.

    Why would anyone pay MONEY for this?

    But, since you have someone to grind with, may your experiences be more pleasant :)

  2. We’ll see. My hopes are not that high. The more I bounce from MMO to MMO, I am finding that I feel like MMO’s are like snowflakes, no two are alike but you need a microscope to tell the difference. So I think the safe money is to give me a month or three and I’ll be bored of it as well :(

    Hopefully, I’m hoping I find the MMO Goldilocks would enjoy.

  3. You and me both. At this point I am very close to just picking an obscure MMO at random and diving in. Well, clearly I am deep into EVE Online at the moment, and though XFire doesn’t show it, I play Free Realms a lot. NeoSteam is a game I don’t like that much and have little respect for, but I’ve been toying with trying it out, or maybe giving Florensia another shot.

    I just want something I can both toss myself into, and is fun, but also not so well known that it’s impossible to find things out for myself. I like mystery, and today’s triple-A MMOs have done a very very good job of removing all of that inconvenient stuff in favor of complete and total information.

  4. I completely agree. I was watching the MMO Reports coverage of E3. It looks like the upcoming MMO’s are all going to be the same deal as well. So glad they hear our pleas of wanting something different only to give us the exact same :\

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

