It’s Not Them, It’s Me

I’ve been thinking a lot lately on where things went bad with EQ2. I was thinking of writing something up like a going away letter with some suggestions on what to I thought would be good ideas for their future.

The more I thought about it, the more I felt like I sounded like a bitter Ex. And then the more I thought about that, the more I figured out, it’s not them, it’s me.

I think when I start getting to end game, it means the end. I never hit end game with EQ1. I got under 20 levels left and I decided the game was a bit out of date and people were dropping the game like flies.

That was about the time that Guild Wars came out, and a free to play MMO sounded great. I played out the story line in that and found afterwards, I just didn’t care any more. What was so exciting about grabbing a bunch of bots and grinding the same area over and over again for mobs that I didn’t even need that much gear for any ways. (Mind you this was pre-expansions)

That was about the time I tried EQ2 and fell in love with it. Then came a long process of making toons and deleting toons to figure out what I liked to play. My wife and I had a great time with the game untill we had a few toons to level 80.

And now I’m at the end game and the game has lost quite a bit of appeal to me. I know it’s not a bad game at all. But, at the same time I feel stuck doing the same ole things. Hitting the same zones. Waiting for loot to drop. Hitting the same raids over and over again.

And this is the point where I find myself..uh…finding a different game. The adventure of EQ2 feels like it is definately at an end.

I see a bunch of other people really enjoying level 80 and I’m just left scratching my head. I heard plenty of people say they didn’t feel that the game actually started untill level 80. Honestly, I’m not getting it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to judge here. Different strokes, different folks, I get and respect that.

But if you have 8 zones to grind through over and over again, and a hand full of raid zones to go through. Well…how long can I do that? Once the excitement leaves the zone I’m running it strictly for loot. And after so many runs with no drops it makes me wonder why I’m running them. Or even if I do get a cookie here and there, is that considered too little too late? Rare vs. Ridiculous?

I don’t think that’s for me. Perhaps with the next expansion, I’ll come back and find all the issues I had with the game have been fixed. I know there’s plenty of new zones so perhaps there is hope.

But, that leads me to here and now. I’m sitting here anxiously awaiting Warhammer to open with a big question mark over my head. I’m wondering when I hit end game in it, will I have the same kind of enjoyment I am getting out of it now? Will PvP keep me more intrested than raids did?

Really I doubt it. I’m starting to think that the end game, for me, just means the end.

Leave a Reply

