The Moral of the Story

Yesterday, I spent quite some time lining my ducks in a row and thinking up arguments expecting a fight from Direct2Drive.  A quick recap of the scenario.  I purchased my copy, then my wife’s copy, then we both received the same CD Key. 

When purchasing a MMO from D2D please note, some of the fine print that states:

MMO games are not eligible to be given as a gift.

When I made my purchase, I saw this and didn’t think about it.  I didn’t buy it for my wife as a present, I just already had my account set up, right? 

A gift is defined as:
 1. something given voluntarily without payment in return, as to show favor toward someone, honor an occasion, or make a gesture of assistance; present. 
 2. the act of giving. 
 3. something bestowed or acquired without any particular effort by the recipient or without its being earned: Those extra points he got in the game were a total gift. 
 4. a special ability or capacity; natural endowment; talent: the gift of saying the right thing at the right time. 
 5. to present with as a gift; bestow gifts upon; endow with. 
 6. to present (someone) with a gift: just the thing to gift the newlyweds. 

I’m not technically giving anything, she’s worked for it.  We’ve got a joint bank account where all our money drops into.  I mean double boxers don’t gift a second account to themselves.  Besides, if the order would mess up two of the same MMO on the same account, the system wouldn’t let you do it would it?  I didn’t give that line a second thought. 

Tucked away in a knowledge base article is this nugget.

Due to the key needing to be assigned to a specific user and the email address requiring to be accurate, please have any friends or family make their own purchases of these games.

My kung fu was feeling very weak.  I did find that quite a few other people were having the same issue.  There is safety in numbers and misery loves company so, I did feel a bit of comfort.

My plan was ask straight forward for my key and if not how we could split the two copies onto two different accounts.  That seemed like the simplest solution.  With resistance, I would add the following points.

 * The word Gift is disputable
 * Why did the software allow me to order 2 copies if the company knew it wouldn’t work.
 * Don’t make me have my wife handle this.  (She’s got strong kung fu)

If all else failed a quick WHOIS gave me at least a phone number for a contact.  Ouch, D2D is owned by Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation.  That could prove a headache.

I’m totally psyched out for my fight.  Preperation for WAR, if you will.

Then I get home from work.  46 hours after the ticket was created, I receive this email.

Hi there,

We have refunded your account for the second purchase of the game. If you require another key, you will need to create new account and add your credit card information to that account – then log into that account on Direct2Drive and re-purchase the game. Purchasing the game again on the same account will only result in the same registration keys being issued and we do not permit gift purchases on this game.

We hope we are able to serve you again soon!

Those PUNKS!  They took my battle away from me, after all that work. 

 

That response, satisfied me and a quick trip to WalMart and bam, I’m playing Warhammer!  W00t ME!!!

So the moral of this story.  Some of the fault has to lie with part of the consumer (me) for not educating myself completely before I bought.  I that “no gift” should have thrown up a red flag and I should have made a concious effort to comprehend it’s meaning.  And apparently knowlege base searches may need to be made before making online purchases.

I would like to see D2D change their verbiage to something that doesn’t need examining.  “You cannot purchase two copies of the same MMO on the same D2D account.”

Another great idea is to set theirsystem up not to allow multiple purchases of games that D2D cannot provide CD Keys or support in general.  Why cause your customers and yourselves the grief?  You know, make it goob proof.

Also, put the expectations of your response time on your website.  A 46 hour response time isn’t a horrible response time, but you never set what my expectations should be.  With no expectations, all that’s left is excuses.  And really if a company is owned by Fox there’s no reason they shouldn’t offer phone support.  Their pockets are definitely deep enough.

Will I use D2D for purchases again?  I guess it depends on the game.  I have used them in the past with no issues so, I would use them again.  Just for single player, 1 copy purchase only kind of games.  I am part of a gaming family, so when I buy a game I am typically buying multiple copies. From here out, MMO’s + D2D = NoNo.

Leave a Reply

