W101: The Beginning

A few nights ago, I flipping through my Google Reader and I hit a post on Tipa’s blog talking about Wizard 101.  I know I loose a few testosterone points by saying this, but that looks like a such a cute game.  I signed the family up to beta test Wizard 101 but, only I was selected for it.  So instead of trying the game, I let my son use the beta account.  I think he logged into it twice, said he liked the game, and never played it again.  (I know, shame on me.)

So, I mention to my wife how I regretted not giving W101 a spin to see how I liked it.  My wife mentioned that there was a free version of the game, I said in classic guy style “nuh-uh” and our mild argument ensued.  Of course, it ended by me finding out I was wrong (again) and us installing W101.

Off To See The Wizard

Off To See The Wizard

Having never played a card game like this before, I do feel at a disadvantage but, the game starts you off slowly with 1 special card and 1 filler card.  Then you seem to build up your deck as you level up.
As with all MMO’s, I in the 2 short days I’ve been playing, I already have a bunch of alts and I’m seeing which I like best.  From how it looks on the site, the free aspect of the game will limit a bit of the content.  The paid will get me more content and then, there is an RMT portion of the game which, I’m not sure what it’ll do for me.
I am still trying to figure out some of the basics like, how to hide the gui, chat (Parental Controls seem to make it difficult) or to let the game know I’m over 13 (bypassing parental controls) taking screenshots, and even just figuring out why the game won’t let me use certain cards at certain times. 
Gotta Love Games with Pimp Hats

Gotta Love Games with Pimp Hats

The quests seem to be challenging at time and are typically fun to do.  If anything, just learning how to play this game brings a refreshing change for any of those suffering from “MMO burnout” and I definitely recommend it.
2 Responses to “W101: The Beginning”

  1. It is kinda cool, isn’t it?

    I am still trying to figure out some of the basics like, how to hide the gui

    Can’t, as far as I know. Taking screenshots, for me, that don’t include the UI, is through intricate framing and cropping.

    chat (Parental Controls seem to make it difficult) or to let the game know I’m over 13 (bypassing parental controls)

    You can change this on the website, but unless you subscribe, you cannot use open chat.

    taking screenshots,

    I use FRAPS. There’s a post on the forums about using PrntScrn to put a picture on the clip board for pasting elsewhere.

    and even just figuring out why the game won’t let me use certain cards at certain times.

    Each turn you earn a pip, which are lined up around your dueling circle. Cards cost pips to play (the number in the upper left corner). Yellow pips count as two, but only if the card is from your school of magic. Grayed out cards haven’t enough pips to play the card.

    The game turns out to be an incredibly deep and challenging game the deeper you get. I’d love to see a card-based MMO without the kid focus. Spellborn may be that game, but maybe not.

  2. Thanks for the info Tipa. Your definately right, this game has a bunch of charm. As a parent of a 10 yr old, I don’t mind the kid focus at all. Actually, I think it’s a nice change of pace, especially when you don’t have to worry if is going to offer some kind of unappropriate innuendo that will have me dancing for an answer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

