SOE: Love to Hate

If there was one company that I’d love to punch square in the face, then kiss it’s bloody mouth, it would have to be SOE.  Grrrrrr.  Just the name starts raising my blood pressure.  At the same time, I love them.  They were well in control of EQ1 when I started playing them.  No matter how frustrated I am with EQ2, I still loved the game.

I’ve tried to stop complaining about them all together. And for the most part, I think I’ve done a good job.  I’m even doing a good job on this post.

SOE did something I thought was really cool.  Maybe you knew this, maybe you didn’t.  If you’ve used the Station Launcher for your games they actually give you your friends list from all SOE games you’ve played.

I am not sure if you have to have a current subscription to one of their games for this to work.  Right now I’ve just got Vanguard going on one of the free offers SOE has going.  I saw a friends button, clicked it and bam!  I’m talking to people in EQ2 off my friends list.  I was shocked to see people I knew still logged into EQ1.

I really enjoyed spending a few minutes saying Hi to people I gamed with during my time on SOE games.  It may even save me from having to resub to a game I really don’t want to play, just so I could say hi to people (HA!)

But seriously, good job SOE.  That friends list is a very nice feature.

2 Responses to “SOE: Love to Hate”

  1. Cool. I downloaded this and it still worked for me even though I don’t have a current subscription to any SOE games. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Glad I was able to help 🙂

Leave a Reply

