EQ: How Did I Get Here?

The last time I posted on the site and said I would be back with a new blog…well, this isn’t the post I thought I would be writing. Now I am sitting back and reflecting. I’m wondering how did I get here again?

I know it started a few nights ago. The wife and I were sitting out on the back patio and talking MMO’s (who us?) And I am pretty sure one of us (if not both) were saying that MMO’s these days are fairly pansy-wamsy spoon feeders that want to lead you around by the hand showing you the content that they want you to see. Why, back in my day no one held our hands. We had 15 zones for levels 10-15 and it would take you 2 hours just to get there. And if you got lost there would be Hill Giants waiting to use your tibia as a tooth pick…and we liked it! Back in my day there a quest journal was the note pad you kept by your computer. And you just hoped that your kid didn’t fold up the quest and make a paper airplane out to go out to attack the neighbor’s dog. And the dog would rip it out of his, and do his business on it. Then if you want to find out what quest items you need, you had try to make out your writing on a soggy piece of paper. And we liked it…no we LOVED IT!

And that’s how I ended up here. By being a grumpy, old man. The trial of EQ installed…played. Resubscribing. . Ah, whatever. If I can tell you one thing I know for sure…We are gonna like it. No, we’ll love it!

2 Responses to “EQ: How Did I Get Here?”

  1. […] at the Gaming Goob wonders what tortured path led from he and his wife reminiscing about EverQuest to both of them playing it again. I wonder if they’re going to be restarting on the new 51/50 […]

Leave a Reply

